“Martyr’s Fire” by Sigmund Brouwer

“Martyr’s Fire” is book three in the series of “Merlin’s Immortals”. An action-packed, suspenseful page-turner, Martyr’s Fire follows Thomas as his short rule of Magnus is stolen from him.  He barely escapes with his life, and aside from a homeless puppy feels more alone then ever.  He embarks on a seemingly hopeless journey to take back his kingdom from the ominous druids and to still figure out the truth and the mystery surrounding him at every turn.  Will he find a friend or foe in Katherine?  Can he truly trust this mysterious woman?

I have anxiously and excitedly followed this series by Sigmund Brouwer hoping that this third book would reveal all the secrets and mysteries surrounding Thomas and his little but important kingdom of Magnus.  Although, an exciting plot and a main character you are rooting for–I feel that I have no more answers or closure even at the end of book three.  So now I wait for book four.  I do enjoy Brouwer’s work, but I have to admit that the plot–filled with lots of potential–is sometimes filled with holes and gaps, leaving me to wonder how did the characters arrived at the next scene.  Plus, some of the characters that you grew attached to are dead-at least for now.  I feel that you need to read the book to continue on to book four (if there is a book four), but so much time needed to happen in the duration of this book, that it felt rushed and incomplete.  However, I do enjoy all the surprise twists and turns the plot takes. I could not put the book  down. I just have lots of questions still waiting to be answered. Although slightly disappointed, I am willing to wait to read the next book.

“Martyr’s Fire” can be purchased at http://www.amazon.com. I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

